7 APC Chieftains Show Interest For Edo State

The main political parties in Nigeria Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressive Congress (APC) have already commenced planning for the 2016 governorship poll.

Who May Succeed Oshiomhole

The PDP ruled the state for 10 years before the incumbent Governor Adams Oshiomhole took over the state under the platform of the former Action Congress of Nigeria before taking the state to the APC.

READ ALSO: Exclusive: APC And Kogi State To Reject Yahaya Bello’s Deputy – APC Official

Edo state governor is defined by his supporters as a grass root politician and an unbelievable mobilizer who cannot be easily dislodged by the opposition.

However, The News reports that about 7 APC chieftains have shown their interest to replace Oshiomhole as Edo state governor in 2016.

They are:

1. Deputy governor Pius Odubu,
2. Ex-governor Osarhemhen Osunbor,
3. Charles Airhiavbere,
4. Chris Ogiemwonyi,
5. Osarodion Ogie,
6. Kenneth Imasuagbon
7. Godwin Obaseki

READ ALSO: Arms Scandal: Oshiomhole Replies Okonjo-Iweala, Calls Her Voodoo Economist

While, the incumbent leader of the state has not spoken on his succession plans, it is widely speculated that he is the final man to decide on who succeeds him.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s